What I learned traveling alone

Hi everyone!

Every time I see a plane in the air I wondered where it is off to and when my next trip will be? A few years ago I started to really gain interest in traveling and exploring our planet. Beginning to develop a bucket list of places I've taken every chance to cross a place off. In November I make one of my scariest adult life decisions…leave my full time job, travel for 24 days, then come back and start a new job search. Two days after leaving my job I booked a Contiki trip to Australia with a departure day in 16 days. Not much time to prepare! This bold decision is one of the best adventures of my life and I am so thankful I burst out of my shell to try something alone. I learned a whole lot over those three weeks away.

IMG_1876

  1. Ask when you are lost: Before leaving one of my friends said wonder and get lost during the day. You'll be able to find your way back. Indirectly this happened and I ended up in a really neat spot in Sydney. I am extremely directionally challenged and usually become easily lost even at home. I had to learn to ask someone for help and trust their directions.DSC_0789
  2. How you prefer to spend your time: Even during our "Me Time" breaks I wanted to spend it being busy going on an excursion, writing in a journal, or exploring with friends. Watching TV or spending a night in our accommodation to relax wasn't a consideration. I learned I'm more of an extrovert traveling than when I'm at home.IMG_3449
  3. Eating a meal alone isn't awkward: I ate a few meals alone because I was traveling alone and sometime there isn't anyone else around. It doesn't have to be awkward if you don't make it. Bring a book, a journal, or even your phone. Also have to admit I may of people watched a few times, I couldn't help it! Try-pods and self timers help for taking pictures as well! I learned to enjoy my own presence. 
  4. How to make friends from across the world: When traveling alone you'll want to share experiences with someone and you can make friends when traveling. As I was on a tour, it was a lot easier to meet people and make new friends. Thankfully with social media we are able to keep in touch!       EJAK8163
  5. Freedom to dictate your day: One of my favourite aspects of life was having days to determine my schedule and not be stuck behind a desk working. I also made decisions based on only my input. I learned I value freedom in changing agendas day to day. 
  6. Forgetting the to-do list and world of social media: Much of your to do list from home will not be able to be completed while you're away, so why worry about it? I spent little time on social media and checking writing lists. I was reminded of the importance of removing yourself from social media and living in the moment.DSC01518
  7. Life at home: I missed everyone back home so much! I learned how much I appreciate everyone in my life and how special they are.
  8. Living with less: Packing up a lot of bags, means you'll also have to carry all these bags around. Packing light saves your energy on travels days. I learned how to live with fewer belongings and a simpler way of life.IMG_1556
  9. Staying calm: Delays, schedules, changes, are bound to happen and when you are alone you have to stay calm. I learned how to stay calm under pressure.
  10. Gratitude: Lives flash infant of our eyes and i'm so thankful to have the chance to go. I knew after university I'd want to travel and worked hard to save up money. This was well worth the expense. I learned how to appreciate every aspect of adventure in my life.  

pbev2262.jpg

I would absolutely travel alone again and could possibly backpack without a tour in the future.

Have you traveled alone?

Thanks for reading and we'll see you back tomorrow.

~ L

Instagram | Email | Twitter | YouTube

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Amazing, did you just see Sydney when you came to Australia? I totally agree with everything you said when travelling! However, I also agree with it for day-to-day life… things like its not awkward to eat alone. Sometimes I find myself having a day off and I’ll just have a coffee and breaky by myself. Its a time to sit and enjoy your own company or it might mean you make a friend when you overhear a conversation you just have to butt into to give your 2 cents. Most of the time people are happy to include you in their conversation too! I have also done a trip to Hong Kong which was by myself and I had the best time shopping, researching little places to eat, enjoying my own company and getting lost! Sometimes you’ll find amazing places when you are lost!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When I visited Australia I started in Cairns then explored the Eastern Coast down to Sydney. One of the most amazing trips of my life! Good for you for also traveling alone and having the confidence to be independent in your everyday life. How was Hong Kong; would you go back? Some of the best discoveries happen when you get lost! Scary at first but if it’s in day light you’ll be safe.

      Like

      1. Nice one! Well next time you head to Australia you’ll have to get to Melbourne then! Thankyou, yeah it was great, very warm, delicious food, fantastic shopping and a bit to do but the only thing that bothered me was the smog! I felt like I just had heavy lungs the whole time! Weird!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Will have to add Melbourne and Hing Kong to the travel list!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Sounds like a great idea!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I travelled solo for a few months (5 on the go and 3 staying in Taiwanfor a language course) 3 years ago and it really was the best time ever! Good thing you shared your tips. It’s the best way to get to know yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your adventures sound amazing! Being in all new elements you’ll be tested, but will also get to grow rich with experiences. Win Win!

      Like

  3. felisrecipes says:

    Nice post. Seems like you had a wonderful time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This trip was incredible! Where is your favourite place you’ve visited?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. felisrecipes says:

        I haven’t traveled as much as I want to but Nova Scotia, Canada left a strong impression on me and I would definitely go again.
        I loved Vienna, Austria as well. With its music and architecture …just amazing. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Both places sound amazing! I have yet to visit the east coast of canada

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment