My Birthday – A note to the future 

Happy Monday! It’s a new month and technically a whole new year for me! Today is my birthday! 24 years old!

When I was younger my dreams when I was 24 years old was to be very established professionally and living independently. I could sit back and make excuses for myself why this hasn’t happened but in reality I learned that my priorities have shifted. I’ve grown from wanting materialistic items to wanting to explore this world. I look forward to dinners out with my girls, trips, Sundays with my family, hearing about everyone’s day, something which made them laugh, and every weekend following the work week.
If I lived the way I had thought I wanted years ago what I look forward to now would be way less frequent occurrences in my life. Could I afford to live on my own from entry level salaries? Sure I could because I’d have to make it work. Pay rent, take public transit, walk more places, buy less food, cook at home more often, travel way less, etc. I’m just that determined not to accept financial help.
Over the last year my happiness was built from experiences and challenges of overcoming obstacles I had held back on due to fear. Jumping on a plane and flying across the world by myself for a few weeks was a bold move but one I’d certainly repeat in a heart beat. I truly opened my heart to being in a relationship and didn’t hold back. Then lastly one of my proudest moments was starting this blog and sharing candidly some of the ways I’m tackling Cracking Adulthood. Thank you to all of you wonderful beauties for allowing me a space to share my story and provide a glimpse into yours.
Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 1.25.19 PM
My purpose for todays post was to leave a note to my future self:
Remember happiness is a journey and what makes you warm with giggles todays could change tomorrow. Our priorities will evolve as we age and it’s okay to let them. Find your inner spark and use it to change the lives of those around you. Money is just a number in the bank, ensure all your expenses are always covered, save some for a rainy day, and then jump on opportunities as they come. You’ll regret spending a load of money on clothes you donated a few months later. But you’ll smile every time you look at travel photos and become flooded with memories. Take photos, explore this world, laugh everyday, make a positive change in someone else’s life without wanting anything in return for yourself, and do what makes you happy.
In regards to love, don’t worry about it. There are over 7 billion people on earth and one man will appear who gives you butterflies every time you think of him. He could just be chasing his own dreams at the moment, give him some time. Believe the universe has a way of making things fall together like a perfect jigsaw puzzle.
All of these incredibly memorable moments happened because you kicked fear to the curb and overcame that terrifying gut feeling of failing. You won’t know when timing is perfect. Trust the present moment. With every challenge your expectations will grow and help you develop into someone you are proud to be. Stand up for yourself, be an independent woman, live for those small moments, and do your absolute best to not compare your journey to those around you.
Be proud of the person you see in the mirror. Showcase who you are and own it. Life is a journey, not a race. A successful life is one filled with happiness. Even in the toughest of times, keep that smile, and fight hard. Perspective is key. Many people in this world have a tougher battle to face. Remember this when you are stressed and want to feel pity for yourself.
At the end of everyday remember to give thanks, show gratitude, and always believe in yourself. You are capable. You are beautiful. You are strong. You’ll figure it out and rock this world.
“Nothing is impossible. The word itself says I’m Possible.”
Lor xo
6 Comments Add yours

  1. Happy birthday dear🎉🎉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely love this; you have a beautiful perspective. Happy birthday gorgeous girl – here’s hoping 24 is a great year!xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words! Have a wonderful day! xx

      Like

  3. Happy birthday hun 🎉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

