What’s in my gym bag? 

Happy Fit Friday! Since I’m on a mini break between contracts I’ve expected myself there to drop any excuses and exercise 5 to 6 days a week. Well truthfully it’s ranged between 3 to 5 times a week, far from my intentions. By I’ve also tried to compensate by eating smaller portions and selecting ‘healthier’ alternatives. Fitness is an ongoing journey! 
On this journey, helps to have a well equipped gym bag. These are a few items in mine:

Socks – Depending on my workout there are two socks I like to wear. When running, a full athletic sock to cushion and add a layer between my foot to shoe. For anything else, half socks with a gel grip backing late my go to. An added benefit is you won’t see them in your running shoes. 

Water Bottle – Hydration is always important when working out, especially in warmer temperatures. For me keeping a water bottle full nearby which I see and have within reach ensures I drink more. 

Deodorant – although I love smelling nice, this is more out of consideration for all the people around me to ensure I don’t stink! 

Small Towel – TMI but I can get really sweaty after a good workout and a towel is nice to freshen up before leaving. 

Lock – Bring a lock to the gym for change room lockers. Usually I keep my phone, ID, and health card in my armband while I workout, in case anything happens while I’m working out this information is readily available. Despite many of us being healthy it’s horror stories and freak accidents which scare me! 

Armband & Headphone – Fun music pumps you up to workout and helps pass the time while doing cardio. An armband is convenient to keep your phone in and helps protect from your sweat! 

Hair Elastic & Pins – Carry around elastics on my wrist but like to keep extras in my bag. Bobby pins are also handy. Growing up dancing these are a staple for me and find them lying around literally every where in my house, even on the driveway. 

Polar Watch – When I charge the watch it’s great to track consistency of workouts including: duration, time, steps taken, type of activity, heart rate, and calories burned. During the day it’ll provide suggestions of activities you can do during the day to reach your fitness goals. If you wear the watch all day then you’ll also have a reader to see if you reach 10,000 daily. 

What do you keep in your gym bag? 

~ L 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. More like same. Just add a pair of sneakers to change into during winter, BCAA and Creatine rarely, gym wear. No headbands of course, short curly Afro hair don’t need that. It’s a nice post would be helpful for anyone thinking of things they might need to get in their gym bags. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. greyresty says:

    Holy crap! I didn’t even realize how vital having your information on hand in case of a freak emergency was. Great post!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! Scary to think about but if you need medical care medics will need to know your name at a bare minimum for history.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

