Treat Yourself

Happy Fit Fridays! Many of us had a short work week and my office started summer hours ending at 4:30 vs 5 pm. 30 minutes made a huge difference in the work day and I’ve loved enjoying the extra minutes of sunlight in the evenings. For today’s post I wanted to talk about how you treat yourself. We talk about treats in the sense of ‘cheating’, as if food knows we are picking one option over another haha. Food is meant to give our bodies fuel to perform at maximum efficiency. 

When we give ourselves a treat it’s the idea of consuming food, partaking in an action, or being involved in something we wouldn’t do on an everyday basis which other people or ourselves would consider to be ‘bad’. Yet ‘bad’ sugary foods get more Instagram likes and social engagement than sharing of a fabulous baked chicken recipe with steamed veggies. I’m guilty myself of tapping the heart more on Instagram for dessert pictures than healthy meals. But do I like the photo more for instant gratification of seeing it and not consuming it myself. 

Do people take a picture of food, only to eat a bite, then toss it away? What kind of message does that send to the rest of the worst about food wastage? 

The idea of taking pictures of food and then tossing it out when so many people are starving or unable to afford enough food to feed their families truly bothers me. We might not all agree and that’s good! Everyone is welcome to share their opinions. 

My key for treats is in moderation, most of my treats involve eating foods I typically wouldn’t and am careful about when I share these on social media. It is way more expensive to buy a smaller container of ice cream than large one but then I know it isn’t going to waste as I won’t eat a large massive tub. Although this isn’t attainable for everyone, you won’t catch me doing a full grocery run at Whole Foods, we can become more aware over the quantities of food we are buying. 

There is some food for thought! Haha 

Thanks for sticking with me today, I know this post was a little all over the place, but sometimes you just have to toss your thoughts out there. Isn’t that what blogging is all about?! 

Have a great weekend, 

~ L 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Keenoahmom says:

    I enjoyed this post. I like to be mindful about the food I eat, and that’s why I too rather buy a small amount of good quality food and then enjoy it with appreciation. For me, a treat is taking time to go on a long walk with my dog when the kids are in school. Just being able to walk the pace I choose is relaxing. It’s the little things 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comments. Walking to take time away from the hustle and bustle is great exercise as well. Keep appreciating the little things!

      Like

Leave a Reply

