Black Bean Brownie Recipe

Happy Friday! We’ve made it to the weekend yet again! Tomorrow one of my sisters and I are taking my mom to see Faith Hill and Tim McGraw in concert for a belated Mother’s Day gift then I also have to schedule in some time for cleaning up around the house. I’m good at bringing home new stuff but not so good with letting go of old things!

Top choice of dessert would have to be brownies, followed by soft chewy cookies, & ice cream. I have quite the sweet tooth! In an effort to make healthier choice I made it a mission to find a comparable black bean brownie recipe. In the past I tried a few which did not taste good at all! Then I stumbled upon Chocolate Covered Kate and her recipe. Everything she makes looks seriously incredible – wow! Also appreciate how she includes a nutrition link for her recipes.

In my version I cut down the maple syrup because I ran out and added a few more chocolate chips. However, they won over my family which is a huge telling point. We have a massive sweet tooth!


Here is my version based from Kate’s:

Black Bean Brownies

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups black beans (1 15-oz can, drained and rinsed very well) (250g after draining)

2 tbsp cocoa powder (10g)

1/2 cup quick oats (40g) (See nutrition link below for substitutions)

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup pure maple syrup or agave (or honey, but not for strict vegans.) (75g)

1/4 cup coconut oil (40g)

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/2 tsp baking powder

2/3 cup of chocolate chips

Blend all ingredients together, except the chocolate chips, until smooth. Stir in chocolate chips and transfer to a greased square pan – 8 x 8 for thicker brownies or 9 x 9 for thinner. I topped with chocolate chips and baked at 340 degrees for 17 – 20 minutes. If it’s still uncooked continue to bake for a 3 to 4 minutes at a time. Let brownies cool in the pan for at least 10 minutes then remove from pan and enjoy!

Disclaimer: This recipe is suppose to be completed in a food processor but I only have a blender and made it in there. If you do use a blender pulse the batter and then with a spatula scrape the sides. Repeating until smooth.

Have you used another base to make brownies? Heard of using sweet potato or zucchini.


Have a great weekend,

~ L

Instagram | Email | Twitter | YouTube

Leave a Reply

