Purging Series: #1 Clothing

Hi there, ever have the feeling you have too much stuff and not enough room to neatly store it? After selling a dresser and needing to find new storage solutions it became quickly I had too many pieces I haven’t worn in at least a year. I’ve been on a purge lately and trying to donate as much as possible. Over the next few weeks I’ll share with you some of the ways I’m determining whether to keep, donate, or toss items.

dsc01833
First up: clothing! I kid you not there were still clothes from middle school lying around, terrible to admit but I was in desperate need of a purge.
For the closet one method I’m beginning to implement is flipping the hangers to the opposite way after I’ve washed it and rehung the item. I’m beginning to see how many pieces are in great condition but I haven’t touched recently. After making a few decisions near the beginning I’m realizing I should give it a few months (due to changing seasons) to see what’s left unturned.
dsc01835
In regards to dresser drawers stuffed with clothes I separated them into what fits and doesn’t fit. Automatically if I don’t feel comfortable in it, why keep it when it could fit someone else perfectly – straight to the donation pile. Luckily I also have sisters who are more than willing to take clothes if I’m giving them away.
Anything with holes, stains, or unintentional rips are in the garbage. Please be curious when giving away items, no one will want anything in terrible condition.
After going over these steps I’ve eliminated a good chunk of items and now all that’s left is neatly folding them back into drawers.
What are your processes for cleaning up?
See you tomorrow,
~ L
5 Comments Add yours

  1. WendyAdams says:

    L,
    I’ve got a website where I’m sharing all about my decluttering missions. I have clutter which takes on many forms (i.e. home, mind, body, emotional, etc.) feel free to check it out if you have time. http://www.clutteredchaos.com. It’s brand new so I’m still working on it though.

    Like

    1. Great work, I can’t wait to follow your journey. Clean spaces are the best!

      Like

  2. WendyAdams says:

    I love the flipping the hanger idea. After just completing a huge closet purge myself, I am going to try this to see if there is anything else I can get rid of. How I did mine originally was pulled every last item from the closet and looked at each piece to determine if it was worthy of residence in my home. I’m in the process of doing that to everything in my home. Needless to say, we sent a truckload of garbage to the dump and my spare room is now full of stuff ready for a garage sale. What doesn’t sell gets donated after the sale, never to return again!

    Like

    1. Amazing working cleaning up Wendy! Thanks for your comment. Keep in touch, would like to hear how the rest of your purging is going!

      Like

Leave a Reply

